Depth and diversity in Team Saxo-Tinkoff

08 January 2013

Danish climber Chris Anker Sørensen will lead a talented international roster of riders representing Team Saxo-Tinkoff at the 2013 Santos Tour Down Under.

Sørensen placed 14th overall and took most aggressive rider honours at last year’s Tour de France and won the mountains classification at the Volta a Catalunya.

The 28-year-old will be joined by Japan’s Takashi Miyazawa, 2012 US road race champion Timothy Duggan and Italian time trial specialist Manuele Boaro.

Santos Tour Down Under Race Director Mike Turtur says fans can look forward to seeing Sørensen battle it out on climbs such as Corkscrew Hill, Kersbrook Road and Old Willunga Hill.

“There are certainly going to be plenty of close finishes as riders vie for ŠKODA King of the Mountain points,” said Turtur.

“Sørensen has proven he is a rider to watch and I’m sure he’ll take his great momentum of 2012 into the new UCI WorldTour season.”

Team Saxo-Tinkoff’s 2013 Santos Tour Down Under roster also includes Australian riders Jay McCarthy and Jonathan Cantwell.

“McCarthy is a very promising young cyclist who will be eager to impress in his first season with the team,” said Turtur.

“Cantwell made a strong ‘Grand Tour’ debut at last year’s Tour de France and notched up stage wins at the Tour de Taiwan.”

According to sport director Fabrizio Guidi Team Saxo-Tinkoff will be looking for a result in the Santos Tour Down Under.

"Chris Anker Sørensen will be our captain for this first WorldTour race of the season and I believe he has a solid chance of making a result for himself and the team on the climbs,” said Guidi.

“We hope for a stage win and if you are right there in a finale of a tough stage you are also in with a chance of putting yourself up there in the GC (general classification).

“On top of that we have a fast man in Cantwell for the sprints and some strong riders for breakaways," Guidi said.

Chris Anker Sørensen is looking forward to his Australian debut.

"This is my first time at the Santos Tour Down Under and, from what I have been told by other riders, this is a fantastic race so I'm really looking forward to pinning a number on my back and getting off to a good start to the new season,” said Sørensen.

“I don't exactly know my form, but I feel pretty strong despite a break, and I'm definitely going there to try to make something happen," said the Dane.

Team Saxo-Tinkoff for the 2013 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by Team Manager Fabrizio Guidi and includes riders Chris Anker Sørensen (DEN), Christopher Juul-Jensen (DEN), Takashi Miyazawa (JPN), Jay McCarthy (AUS), Jonathan Cantwell (AUS), Manuele Boaro (ITA) and Timothy Duggan (USA).

The Santos Tour Down Under will be held in Adelaide and regional South Australia from 20-27 January 2013.

Back to top
ATDW-Online Explore Visitor statistics, South Australia Restaurant Australia