SA tour operators showcased at Australia’s biggest tourism event

11 May 2014

Some of South Australia’s iconic tourism experiences will be showcased to the world at this week’s Australian Tourism Exchange in Cairns.

21 South Australia tourism operators will represent South Australia at the week-long Exchange, described as Australia’s largest annual travel and tourism business-to-business event.

Port Lincoln’s Adventure Bay Charters, the Arkaroola Wilderness Sanctuary, Exceptional Kangaroo Island, Rawnsley Park Station, and Rodney Fox Shark Expeditions are among the South Australian tourism operators showcasing their businesses.

Tourism Minister Leon Bignell will hold high-level meetings during a visit to the Australian Tourism Exchange on Tuesday. He said the event provided a great opportunity to showcase South Australia and its unique tourism experiences directly to the international travel and tourism market.

“Travel agents and other tourism wholesalers and retailers from more than 30 countries, as well as dozens of international and local travel journalists, gather at the Australian Tourism Exchange every year,” he said.

“A week of business appointments and networking events gives our tourism operators the chance to directly promote their businesses to some of the world’s leading travel companies.

“These are the people who decide what destinations they will promote in their country, and we want to ensure South Australia is front and centre in their thinking around must-visit places in Australia."

Minister Bignell said South Australia is already attracting record numbers of international visitors, with an increase of more than 13 percent last year – well above the national growth of 5.6 percent.

“This week’s event is a further opportunity to consolidate and grow that success,” he said.

“The significant increase in the number of direct international flights into Adelaide is allowing more and more international visitors to come and experience our world class food and wine, our high quality tourism infrastructure, and some of the most pristine natural beauty anywhere in the world.

“And with Lonely Planet naming Adelaide as one of the top ten cities of the world to visit during 2014, the Australian Tourism Exchange will help us attract even more tourists to our city and our State,” he said.

South Australian Tourism Operators at the Australian Tourism Exchange 2014:
1834 Hotels (formerly Country Clubs and Hotels) - www.1834hotels.com.au
A Taste of South Australia - www.tastesa.com.au
Adventure Bay Charters - www.adventurebaycharters.com.au
Arkaroola Wilderness Sanctuary - www.arkaroola.com.au
Australian Wildlife Adventures - www.thetraveller.net.au and www.xploreeyre.com.au
Coober Pedy Desert Cave Tours and Hotel - www.desertcave.com.au
Exceptional Kangaroo Island - www.exceptionalkangarooisland.com
Fleurieu Peninsula Tourism - www.fleurieupeninsula.com.au
Gawler Ranges Wilderness Safaris - www.gawlerrangessafaris.com
Hughes Chauffeured Cars (formerly SmartCar) – www.hugheslimousines.com.au/locations/adelaide/
Goin’ Off Safaris - www.goinoffsafaris.com.au
Jacob’s Creek Visitor Centre - www.jacobscreek.com
Kangaroo Island Seafront Hotel - www.seafront.com.au
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Tours - www.wildernesstours.com.au
Majestic Hotels - www.majestichotels.com.au
North Adelaide Heritage Group - www.adelaideheritage.com
Rawnsley Park Station - www.rawnsleypark.com.au
Rodney Fox Shark Expeditions - www.rodneyfox.com.au
Temptation Dolphin Swim - www.dolphinboat.com.au
Tourism Barossa - www.barossa.com
Wilpena Pound Resort - www.wilpenapound.com.au

Back to top
ATDW-Online Explore southaustralia.com Visitor statistics, South Australia Restaurant Australia